The Palace of the Crimean Khans is of great cultural, architectural and historical interest for the guests of the peninsula and, in particular, Bakhchisaray. According to most researchers, the construction of the palace, as the residence of the Crimean khans, began in 1503.

It inherits the architectural style of traditional Ottoman architecture — light, graceful silhouettes of buildings immersed in gardens and flower beds with fountains and gazebos.

  • The main idea when creating the palace was the embodiment of the Muslim idea of ​​paradise on earth.

The palace was modified and completed, and after the city was destroyed in 1736, it was practically rebuilt anew.

The palace survived the next construction alterations after the annexation of Crimea to Russia. The appearance of the building was distorted, the general style was broken, many interior items and decoration details were lost.

  • On the basis of the palace in 1908, a scientific museum was created, which in Soviet times was reorganized into a museum of the history and culture of the Crimean Tatars.
  • In the 60s of the last century, global restoration work was carried out, which helped to restore most of the architectural and decorative details of the building.
  • The excursion program provides an opportunity to see the front and office premises, the chambers of the khan himself, harem rooms, large and small mosques, the khan’s cemetery, fountains. Among the latter is the famous Fountain of Tears, sung by A. S. Pushkin.
  • Household items, clothing, jewelry, dishes, furniture within the exposition recreate a picture of life and everyday life of that time. On the territory of the complex there is an art museum, which presents the works of Crimean artists.

Inspection of this most interesting sight of Crimea will not leave anyone indifferent.