Journey through Syzran
The history of Syzran covers several centuries, which is reflected in its appearance, which has retained its originality and former splendor. The main decoration of the city are restored mansions, temples, monasteries and unique buildings that attract many tourists.
Pilgrims also come to Syzran, wishing to visit Christian shrines, erected in the 17th century, and today they are the pride of the townspeople.
- One of the pearls of the city is the Assumption (originally Nikolskaya) Church, the wooden building of which was built in 1692 and rebuilt three times.
Today, the unusual stone octagonal building is a reminder of the miraculous deliverance of the city from cholera in 1830.
- Miraculously, another famous Syzran temple, the Kazan Cathedral, located in the very center of the ancient city-fortress, escaped complete destruction.
- The interior of the temple is decorated with unique hand-painted paintings by Moscow painters, miraculous icons of the Fedorov Mother of God and a piece of the relics of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker are also kept here.
- The central tower of the Syzran Kremlin, the oldest building in the Samara region, has survived to this day. At the dawn of its existence, it was the center of fortification, and later it was rebuilt and supplemented by the Church of the Savior Not Made by Hands.
- The restored Kremlin belfry attracts those wishing to listen to the bell ringing, which announces the city every day at 11 am.
- You can see numerous historical and cultural values in the Syzran Museum of Local Lore. This architectural monument miraculously survived a fire in 1906 and since 1923 has become a place for demonstrating a collection of rare books, photographs, coins found during excavations and exhibits obtained during the expropriation of property from the nobles. Today, the two-story mansion is completely occupied by expositions of various directions, reminiscent of the history of the region.
- The Syzransky Bridge, which is almost one and a half kilometers long, is a unique building that runs across the Volga. Initially, it was called Alexandrovsky, and was opened for the 25th anniversary of the reign of Tsar Alexander II.
- During the revolution and the Second World War, they repeatedly tried to blow it up, but today the movement along it still connects central Russia with the Urals and Siberia.
- Along with other attractions, the bridge is the pride of the townspeople and a historical value.